2017 GCSGC Presidents Knock Out Cup

Hi Members,

Your GCSGC Committee is trialing a new tournament in 2017 – the President’s Knockout Cup.

This Tournament will be held over 6 stableford Tournaments in the remainder of the year. (Rd 1 – Ballarat, Rd 2 – Lonsdale, Rd 3 – Geelong, Rd 4 – East Geelong, Rd 5 – Queenscliff, Rd 6 – Bacchus Marsh)

Rules and Rd 1 match ups are as follows.

Knockout Cup Rules 2017
New event running con-currently across 6 Rounds

-Normal stableford scoring in a match play concept – winner of a hole is the player with the highest stableford score for that hole. (Mark card with initial of player who won the hole along with stableford scores). Match ends/conceded when there are not enough holes remaining to square the match ie 4 down 3 to play. ** Remember play out the round however as normal stableford tournament is running con-currently.

– Extra Holes required for tied matches – in a sudden death format.

– If opponent doesn’t show for particular round walk-over granted.

– If you do not finish your round walk-over/conceded victory granted to opponent.

– If neither player in a match-up plays in the round , the closest loser in that round will be granted a wildcard entry into the next round in place of the non playing members. If there is another match-up with no opponents the next closest loser will be granted a wildcard into the next round – etc.

– Rd 1 Winner of 19 Match-ups plus 5 Wildcards advance to round 2

– Rd 2 Winner of 12 Match-ups plus 4 Wildcards Advance to round 3 (round of 16)

– Rd 3 Winner of 8 Match-ups advance to Round 4 (Quarters)

– Rd 4 Winner of 4 Match-ups advance to Round 5 (Semis’s)

– Rd 5 Winner of 2 Match-ups advance to Round 6 (Final)

– Wildcards = Closest scoring loser.

Rd 1 Ballarat GC

Kunovic, Anthony v Krasic, Ivan

Timonowicz, Chris v Pucko, Danny

Rabar, Gino v Medved, Ante

Miocic, Paul v Levar, Mat

Svaljek, Tom v Tomasevic, Vlado

Tomasevic, Marko v Stosic, Ivan

Novoselac, Zdenko v Sarcevic, Ante

Pausak, Marinko v Kunovic, Steve

Morelli, Anthony v Gurrie, David

Kovacevic, Luka v Svaljek, Adam

Chalmers, Derek v Jukic, David

Peretin jnr, Josip v Ivelja, Anthony

Stocki, Daniel v Cosic, Frank

Vrljic, Mark v Kump, Stipe

Krstevski, Branko v Cengic, Joe

Finch, James v Peretin sen, Josip

Kurtovic, Miro v Matijevic, Branko

Blair, Brian v Kevric, Frank

Thompson, Colin v Began, Adrian

2017 Rd 4 2/4/17 Round 1 Ivan Marks – The Sands

Hi members,

Only 16 hit off in perfect conditions in round 4 at the The Sands golf course in Torquay numbers were down but on the positive side MVP points for all. Round 4 is the first of 3 rounds at the Sands to decide the 2017 Ivan Marks, it is a tough course to play stroke on as any shot gained can be quickly given back with interest on subsequent holes. Ante ‘Aircon Ezy’ Sarcevic trumped the day to finish with a net 71, 5 shots clear of second Frank ‘Curly’ Cosic on 76 who beat Guz David Gurrie into third on countback. Danny Pucko was the first to fall foul of the new Naga rule, dubbed the ‘Pucko Policy’ by some members were a DNF slots into last.

Our next tournament is at The Ballarat Golf course on the 30th of April – Tee-off is 7.30am Stableford.

Note this tournament is slated as Rd 1 of a new tournament ‘The Knockout Cup’. Rules and matchups can be found on this website and the Team App.

Happy swinging,

GCSGC committee.

Venue – The Sands ( Ivan Marks Rd 1)
Winner – Sarcevic, Ante
2nd – Cosic, Frank
3rd – Gurrie, David
Naga – Pucko, Danny
Nearest the Pin 1 – Cosic, Frank
Nearest the Pin 2
Nearest the Pin 3 – Gurrie, David
Nearest the Pin 4 – Kovacevic, Luka
Longest Drive 1 – Sarcevic, Ante
Longest Drive 2 – Pucko, Danny
Who Qualifies – Sarcevic, Ante

2017 Rd 3 19/3/17 RACV Torquay

Hi members,

29 golfers hit off in round 3 at the RACV Torquay golf course, conditions were perfect for golf no wind and low twenty temps. Mark ‘Mr pressure’ Vrljic sunk a down hill birdie putt on the last to finish with a spanking score of 40 points to take out the tourney from Paul ‘Long Chong’ Miocic on 39 points, welcome back Paul good to see you with clubs in hand again. Rounding out the placings for RACV Torquay tournament was Anthony Ivelja on 35 points – countback from numerous scores of 35. The pink rock for Naga went with our president Marinko Pausak to his dark place.

Our next tournament is at The Sands Torquay Golf course on the 2nd of April – Tee-off is 7.45am – Rd 1 Ivan Marks (Stroke).

****Reminder payment is due for our Golf Trip to Cobram Barooga 8-9th of July**** Don’t miss out come along and participate in the 2017 Cro Open. 2 Days Golf, Accomodation and meal vouchers all for the very cheap rates listed below-
**** $50 non bus or $80 with Bus – we need to confirm numbers with the course ASAP.

Happy swinging,

GCSGC committee.

Venue RACV Torquay
Winner – Vrljic, Mark
2nd – Miocic, Paul
3rd – Ivelja, Anthony
Naga – Pausak, Marinko
Nearest the Pin 1 – Miocic, Paul
Nearest the Pin 2 – Chalmers, Derek
Nearest the Pin 3 – Chalmers, Derek
Nearest the Pin 4 – Pucko, Danny
Longest Drive 1 – Miocic, Paul
Longest Drive 2 – Kevric, Frank
Who Qualifies – Vrljic, Mark

Golf Trip Cobram-Barooga 2017

Attention Members

This month’s tournament is held this Sunday 19 March at RACV Torquay tee off at 7:15 (Stableford Event).
We will also be collecting deposits for our Cro-Open Golf Trip at Cobram-Barooga that will be held over two days of Stableford format on the 8th & 9th July. Saturday tee off at 11:45am and Sunday tee off at 8:35am.

The club will cover 90% of the cost and members are only required to pay the following deposit/s:
• If you plan on driving up the cost will be $50.00
• If you would like to go by mini bus that we will organise the cost is $80.00

Please try and bring your deposit this Sunday as we need to finalise numbers ASAP. (We will also require your address home and email, date of birth and phone number to pass onto Cobram-Barooga)

What you get:
• 2 days of unlimited golf (Saturday & Sunday) carts included
• The winner of the Cro Open will be the player with the highest combined Stableford score over the 2 days)
• Sunday Breakfast served in the clubhouse (before RD2)
• $15 meal voucher for use at the club
• Use of all club facilities (Gym, Pool, Spa)
• Complimentary Social Membership that gives you a 10% discount on food and beverage

Regards Committee

2017 Rd 2 12/2/17 Clifton Springs Golf Club

Hi members,

31 golfers tee’d up for round 2 at Clifton Springs – after a perfect week weather wise the skys clouded over and there was a slight chill in the air but that is Victoria. Anthony ‘air-raid’ Morelli broke through for his maiden win with a fantastic score of 39, young Jimmy must be letting dad get plenty of sleep. Bridesmaid again for Zdena Novoselac who came in second on 36 points – enjoy the Sphinx voucher Zdena, whilst Dave ‘Jukebox’ Jukic rounded out the placings with a score of 35. The pink lady pill was taken home by Chris Timonowicz who lost/won versus Vlado Tomasevic on countback with 23 points.

Our next tournament is at Torquay RACV Golf course on the 19th of March – Tee-off is 7.15am – stable ford event.

Happy swinging,

GCSGC committee.

Venue Clifton Springs
Winner – Morelli, Anthony
2nd – Novoselac, Zdena
3rd – Jukic, Dave
Naga – Timonowicz, Chris
Nearest the Pin 1 – Timonowicz, Chris
Nearest the Pin 2 – Peretin Jnr, Josip
Nearest the Pin 3 – Cosic, Frank
Nearest the Pin 4 – Began, Adrian
Longest Drive 1 – Blair, Brian
Longest Drive 2 – Cengic, Joe
Who Qualifies – Morelli, Anthony