11/2/18 Round 2 Clifton Springs Golf Club

Hi members,

27 Golfers hit off in round 2 at Clifton Springs conditions were overcast but as usual some nice scores were posted on this “gettable” course to see some new and old faces. Paul ‘snail mail’ Miocic submitted a score of 42 points long after everyone had gone home to take out the round. The podium placings went to a pair of Ante’s on 40 points Sarcevic with silver on countback from Alic. Ivan ‘Iron Man’ Krasic took home the pink nut for NAGA.

Our next tournament is the 2018 Cro Open which will be played across 36 stableford holes at the Bacchus Marsh Golf course on the 25th of March – Tee-off time & travel arrangements to follow. Your GCSGC will be providing meals for the day – so lets get big numbers there and make it a great event.

Also the format of this years Matchplay Cup has been changed to an opt in tournament with a registration fee attached of approx $30-50 (TBD) winner of matchplay to receive 60-75% of reg fee prize pool along with trophy. If interested in partaking please alert your GCSGC committee by Round 5.

Happy Swinging GCSGC Committee

Venue – Clifton Springs
Winner – Miocic, Paul
2nd – Sarcevic, Ante
3rd – Alic, Ante
Naga – Krasic, Ivan
Nearest the Pin 1 – Kovacevic, Luka
Nearest the Pin 2 – Kump, Stipe
Nearest the Pin 3 – Sarcevic, Ante
Nearest the Pin 4 – Blair, Brian
Longest Drive 1 – Blair, Brian
Longest Drive 2 – Blair, Brian
Who Qualifies – Miocic, Paul

21/1/18 Portarlington golf course Rd 1 Ivan Marks

Hi members,

We are back into the swing for a new year. 25 Golfers tee’d up in round 1 nice to see some new and old faces. El senor Josip Peretin Sr took out the round with a low net score of 63, the mechanics of Jo’s swing can be assessed on our Facebook page search gcsgc – geelong croatian social golf club. Second place to Gino Rabar on net 67 and Marinko P rounded out the placings with a net 68. Mr Concrete Vlado Tomasevic has picked up where he left off last year and is out ahead in the NAGA race with a DNF, must have blown a gasket.

Our next tournament is at Clifton Springs Golf course on the 11th of February – Tee-off is 7.00am – (Stableford)

Remember if you know someone who may be interested in swinging the wrenches and is down for some fun bring them along and sign them up – lets grow our membership base.

Happy Swinging GCSGC Committee

Venue – Portarlington
Winner – Peretin sen, Josip
2nd – Rabar, Gino
3rd – Pausak, Marinko
Naga – Tomasevic, Vlado
Nearest the Pin 1 – Gurrie, David
Nearest the Pin 2 – Gurrie, David
Nearest the Pin 3 – Krstevski, Branko
Nearest the Pin 4
Longest Drive 1 – Barron, Michael
Longest Drive 2 – Tomasevic, Marko
Who Qualifies – Peretin sen, Josip

Champs Winner – Breakup wrap.

Hi Members,

Adrian “Big Shot” Began was our Champ of Champs winner for 2017 – sizzling up some soggy greens at Portarlington with a net 66. Welldone Adrian.

At the Hacks Anthony Kunovic took out the day on countback from Branko Matijevic with 36 points.

Other big winners this year – David Gurrie (MVP & Ivan Marks), Paul Miocic (Cro Open, NTP), Blairy (Longest Drive’s) and the President took home some sort of cup.

Congrats also to our happy little NAGA’s Luka, Branko and Vlado.

Check out the gallery for pictures of all the winners.

Has anyone seen Vrle he may have got pinched stumbling home with T.V. under his arm on Sunday evening?

The 1st Tournament next year will be at Portarlington on the 21st of Jan and incorporates Rd 1 of the Ivan Marks which is a stroke event.

Merry Xmas and Happy Swinging

GCSGC Committee

Groupings for the Champ of Champs – Hacks/Breakup details


This Sunday the 3/12/17 concludes our 2017 Golfing year with the Championships at Portarlington Golf Course – Tee Off 7am (Stroke event) $50 green fee (includes cart) – whilst the rest of us will play the Hack of Hacks at Geelong Golf Course tee off 7.30am (Stableford event) $50 Green fee. These events will be followed by our annual break-up at the AHD Dom 93 Separation St, Bell Park from 2pm. Please come along and celebrate the year together – partners and families most welcome.

Championship Groups and HC as follows:

Group 1
Paul Miocic – 10.6
Danny Pucko – 17.5
Marinko Pausak – 9.7
David Jukic – 24.0

Group 2
Dave Gurrie – 7.3
Frank Cosic – 11.3
Adrian Began – 12.4
Miro Kurtovic – 10.8

Group 3
Branko Krstevski – 8.0
Mark Vrljic – 11.6
Steve Kump – 11.9
Anthony Morelli – 25.2

Group 4
Brian Blair – 3.8
Colin Thompson – 10.4
Steve Kunovic – 13.2
Ante Sarcevic – 16.1

Goodluck to all participants – happy swinging.

GCSGC Committee.

5/11/17 Rd 13 Bacchus Marsh Golf Club

Hi members,

20 Golfers tee’d off in Rd 13 at Royal Bacchus Marsh GC, the weather conditions were overcast and the greens certainly quickened up as the sun peaked through. Some of the golfers really used the local drop zone rule to their advantage as all greens had been graded just off the fringes. The podium placers all scored 39 points and were separated on count-back; Ante ‘Sarsaparilla’ Sarcevic took out the tourney, Steve ‘Kumpy’ Kump took silver and Adrian ‘baby cakes’ Began finished third and subsequently qualified for the Champs. Luka K finished with 22 points and took home the NAGA pink ball for his troubles. A big thankyou to member Tom Svaljek for hosting us at his club and putting on such a great day, for those that ventured home on the bus we were certainly well feed, lubricated and some wallets were bulging.

Rd 13 also included the final of the President’s knock-out cup and our inaugural winner was our very own president Marinko ‘M.O.N.X.’ Pasauk 3 & 2 over Jimbo.

Our next tournament is the Championships on 3/12/17 at Portarlington 7.00am tee-off (Stroke) and Hack of Hacks at Geelong Golf Club 7.30am tee-off (Stableford). These will be followed by our break-up at the DOM Separation St more details to follow.

Happy Swinging GCSGC Committee

Venue – Bacchus Marsh
Winner – Sarcevic, Ante
2nd – Kump, Stipe
3rd – Began, Adrian
Naga – Kovacevic, Luka
Nearest the Pin 1 – Kunovic, Steve
Nearest the Pin 2 – Pausak, Marinko
Nearest the Pin 3 – Sarcevic, Ante
Nearest the Pin 4 – Kump, Stipe
Longest Drive 1 – Svaljek, Adam
Longest Drive 2 – Sarcevic, Ante
Who Qualifies – Began, Adrian, Finch James – K/O, Kunovic, Steve – MVP